Committees & Bodies

The Deutsches Bergbau-Museum Bochum has several advisory bodies for promoting the institution and to properly take account of cross-regional research policy considerations; these bodies meet at least once a year.

Board of Trustees

The remit of the Board of Trustees includes discussing current issues facing the Deutsches Bergbau-Museum Bochum, promoting its research and museum-based activities, and adopting recommendations made to its funders and sponsors, especially on research and museum policy questions, as well as approving the fundamental data of the finance and research plan and the partial statement of accounts. The Board of Trustees also decides the composition of the Scientific Advisory Committee, discusses its recommendations, and advises the Executive Board of the DMT-Gesellschaft für Lehre und Bildung mbH on all issues that arise.

The Board of Trustees has the following members:

  • Bärbel Bergerhoff-Wodopia
    Member of the Board of Executives of the RAG-Stiftung
  • Thomas Eiskirch
    Mayor of the City of Bochum
  • Inga Hennicke-Aden
    Federal Ministry of Education and Research
  • Peter Schrimpf
    CEO of the RAG Aktiengesellschaft
  • Dr. Michael H. Wappelhorst
    Ministry for Culture and Science of the State of North-Rhine Westphalia, Düsseldorf

The following are non-voting attendee guests at the meetings of the Board of Trustees:

  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Schwan
    Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien (IWM), Tübingen, Head of the Realistic Depictions Lab and Deputy Director of the IWM
  • Prof. Dr. Sunhild Kleingärtner
    Scientific Director of the Deutsches Bergbau-Museums Bochum and Member of the Management Board of theDMT-Gesellschaft für Lehre und Bildung, Bochum

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee comprises twelve experts from the specialist fields of mining, natural science and engineering, (technical) history | archaeology and heritage protection | structural damage, as well as from the archive, collections, museum activity, and cultural science areas. Members are appointed for a term of five years; re-appointments are permitted.

The remit of the Scientific Advisory Committee includes issuing statements on the results of the work presented in the Research Report of the previous year. Furthermore, it is tasked with issuing recommendations on the Research Plan for the coming years, on the assumption of new tasks or ceasing existing ones, on optimising the work of the museum and on the design of the collections (forward planning).

The Committee advises on new appointments of research employees to the Board of Trustees and, in particular, to the Executive Committee of the DMT-Gesellschaft für Lehre und Bildung mbH, Bochum.


  • Prof. Dr. Stephan Schwan
    Leibniz-Institut für Wissensmedien (IWM), Tübingen, (knowledge media institute), Head of the Realistic Depictions working group and Deputy Head of the IWM

Deputy Chair

  • Dr. Marie Luisa Allemeyer
    University of Göttingen, Head of the Central Curatorship


  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Elisabeth Clausen
    RWTH Aachen University, Faculty for Geo-resources and Materials Technology, Head of the Institute for Advanced Mining Technologies

  • Angelika Doppelbauer, M.A.
    kulturbegeistert Ausstellungen (cultural exhibition organisation), mediation, events, Wels/Upper Austria, Director

  • Prof. Dr. Gerd Goldenberg
    University of Innsbruck, Institute of Archaeology, Department for Pre- and Early History

  • Prof. Dr. Dorothee Haffner
    HTW Berlin (University of Applied Sciences), Department of Design and Culture, IT for Museums: Documentation and Media

  • Prof. Dr. Sabine Höhler
    KTH Royal Institute of Technology Stockholm (Sweden), School of Architecture and the Built Environment, Division of History of Science, Technology and Environment
  • Dr. Jutta von Maurice
    Leibniz Institute for Educational Trajectories (LIfBi), Bamberg, Head of Center for Study Management 

  • Prof. Dr. Marcus Popplow
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), History of technical-scientific civilisation

  • Prof. Dr. Patricia Rahemipour
    Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Preußischer Kulturbesitz, Direktorin Institut für Museumsforschung
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Schäfer
    University of Bamberg, Institute for Archaeology, Heritage Conservation Studies and Art History, Prehistoric and Protohistoric Archaeology

  • Prof. Dr. Friederike Waentig
    TH Köln/University of Applied Sciences Cologne, Department of Cultural Studies, Institute for Restoration and Conservation Sciences

Advisory Board to the Bergbau-Archiv Bochum (Mining Archive of Bochum)

One outcome of the most recent evaluation conducted for the Deutsches Bergbau-Museum Bochum, was the recommendation that the Advisory Board to the Mining Archive of Bochum not only be retained, but that its current mining-related expertise be augmented by a representative from the German archiving field. Since 2016, the Advisory Board has therefore comprised the following persons:

  • RA Dr. Thorsten Diercks (licensed attorney)
    Chief Executive of the Vereinigung Rohstoffe und Bergbau e. V., Berlin (minerals and mining association
  • Prof. Dr. Jürgen Kretschmann
  • Dr. Ulrich S. Soénius
    Director of the Stiftung Rheinisch-Westfälisches Wirtschaftsarchiv, Cologne (state industrial archive), and Director of Fachgruppe 5: Archivarinnen und Archivare an den Archiven der Wirtschaft des VdA - Verband deutscher Archivarinnen und Archivare e.V. (Special industrial archivist group within the German association of archivists)
  • RA Michael Weberink (licensed attorney)
    Chief Executive of the Branchenverbandes Steinkohle und Nachbergbau e.V. (bs|n)